Mental Health Awareness Week and Christianity

Jarvis Avenue Church
4 min readMay 17, 2021

By Philip Lawrence

Image: Tim Mossholder

Following Mental Health Awareness Week, are you now more aware of mental health and how it may affect you and those that you know?

I am no expert and find it difficult to know how best to support friends who either have, or live with family who have, ill mental health. I try to listen and be kind, but without any real conception of what is must be like. I nod and when they mention depression and medication and sympathise as they manage their condition, as best they can, through exercise and avoiding depressants such as alcohol.

I am horrified at how close some have come to suicide.

I am terrified at the feeling of helplessness of parents supporting their child with schizophrenia and fighting the care system so they receive essential support.

What causes poor mental health? A chemical imbalance?

I was interested when reading The Report from the Commission on Race and Ethnic Disparities (see blog on Privilege and Prejudice) which drew attention to the effect of racism on mental health. It says:

‘Experts advise that mental ill health has little to do with genetic predisposition but rather is to do with adverse social circumstances, including racism and hardship. In 2018 the Synergi Collaborative Centre, … published a briefing on the relationship between racism and mental ill health suggesting that the fear of racism and racist attacks among people from ethnic minority groups can lead to chronic stress. As well as being harmful in itself it can also weaken resilience and in parents can affect the mental health of their children. The authors conclude that “there is a growing and convincing body of evidence that psychosis and depression, substance misuse and anger are more likely in those exposed to racism”.’

Mind, the mental health charity says:

“Anyone can experience a mental health problem. But those of us who identify as LGBTIQ+ are more likely to develop problems like:

· low self-esteem

· depression

· anxiety, including social anxiety

· eating problems

· misusing drugs and alcohol

· self-harm

· suicidal feelings

· other mental health problems.”

They go on to say:

“Being LGBTIQ+ does not cause these problems. The reasons why those of us with LGBTIQ+ identities are more likely to get them are very complicated. But it is most likely to do with facing things like:

· homophobia, biphobia and transphobia

· stigma and discrimination

· difficult experiences of coming out

· social isolation, exclusion and rejection.”

I have witnessed the stress of a dear young friend facing her sexuality, coming out and telling her parents.

This short review of evidence seems clear. The way we react to people who are different to us can affect their mental health.

Image: Sydney Sims

When I read the New Testament I am frequently reminded that Jesus had a challenging life and was rejected by his society, harassed, arrested, falsely accused, persecuted and killed by crucifixion.

And he began to teach them that the Son of Man must suffer many things and be rejected by the elders and the chief priests and the scribes and be killed, and after three days rise again. (Mark 8:31)

Behind this must have been the anguish of knowing that his mission would result in him being killed. He also had close family and followers reject, deny and betray him. This “troubled” him. At one point he cried out “Now is my soul troubled. And what shall I say? ‘Father, save me from this hour’? But for this purpose I have come to this hour” (John 12:27) as he struggled with his own mission and its meaning for him.

On the cross “Jesus cried with a loud voice, “Eloi, Eloi, lema sabachthani?” which means, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” (Mark 15:34). I don’t believe that God did forsake his Son, but that is what it felt like to Jesus. In fact, Psalm 22 which foretells of Jesus experience on the cross says:

I am poured out like water, and all my bones are out of joint; my heart is like wax; it is melted within my breast; my strength is dried up like a potsherd, and my tongue sticks to my jaws; you lay me in the dust of death.

Psalms 22:14–15

He had been brought down to the dust of death — for me — and for all those that accept him as their Lord and saviour.

Christianity does not prevent ill mental health just as it does not prevent other health issues. Within Church I know friends with a strong trust in God and a deep love of Jesus who have poor mental health. They are grateful for the grace of God that saves them and to those that practically reach out, listen and are kind.

One final thing I reflected on last week is that if Christianity does not prevent poor mental health, can it cause poor mental health? I think back to my friend at church who came out and the pressure she was under to conform. I still meet Christians who live in fear, fear of judgement. A Christianity that emphasises imperfections, focuses on a coming judgement, insists that only certain people who meet certain stereotypes can be saved, and frightens you into compliance and overlooks grace — must surely be harmful to mental health.

I wish I could be more supportive to those with poor mental health — if only I know how. I thank God for Jesus who can support us all in our different lives today.

--

--

Jarvis Avenue Church

Jarvis Avenue Church is a community of Christians looking to best serve Jesus in the communities in which we live.